Healthy Recipes

Lazy Girl Sunday Brunch: Turkey Bacon, Spinach, and Chicken Mug Quiche

Is it just me, or does anyone else feel like when you wake up late your whole day is just thrown off? I woke up at 8 this morning (a stark contrast to my normal 5 am wake-up time) and I just felt off. The sun was already shining, the cat was meowing to get into the bedroom, and my whole routine had been cast aside for a few extra hours of much-needed sleep.

quiche-with-cheese-aerial

Fortunately, with some quick thinking (and lazy tendencies!) this yummy breakfast put me right back on track. This mug quiche has made appearances in my kitchen for well over 4 years, and for good reason. It requires very little time and effort, and provides me with a huge protein and greens boost to fuel me for whatever I need to do next!

with-toast-aerial

What I really love about this mug quiche is how adaptable it is – you can throw in whatever ingredients you have lying around your pantry or fridge and make a super delicious breakfast in minutes! I always aim for at least one kind of extra protein (aside from the eggs) and one form of greens – today I happened to have leftover grilled chicken, spinach, and turkey bacon which made a for a huge protein bomb to start my day 🙂

with-toast-side-shot

Paired with a slice of peanut butter toast, this breakfast got me back into the groove of my Sunday in less than 10 minutes! And of course, it just felt that much better being Batman for a few minutes of the day with my mug 😉

I hope you guys enjoy this mug quiche as much as I do on lazy mornings!

Ingredients:
2 eggs
Salt to taste
1 cup raw spinach, chopped
1/4 cup grilled chicken, chopped
2 slices of turkey bacon, chopped
3 T shredded cheddar cheese, divided
Salsa (optional)
Avocado (optional)

  1. Layer turkey bacon, spinach, 2T cheese, and grilled chicken in mug of choice
  2. In separate bowl, whisk together eggs and salt, then pour into mug
  3. Mix all ingredients thoroughly, then heat in microwave for 3 minutes or until middle is no longer runny
  4. Top with remaining cheese and other desired toppings – enjoy!
Leave a Reply

