Self-Help

Staying Organized in 2017: The Daily Binder

Happy New Year everyone! I hope everyone had an awesome holiday season. I had all of last week off and spent my time getting the house de-Christmased, cleaned, and organized in preparation for what I hope is going to be an awesome new year! I’ve got a ton of projects going on right now and can’t seem to want to do any of them until my space is clean (imagine that 😉 ) So it’s been a long week of cleaning out my clutter and trying to put everything in one place that I use frequently. My office is now finally clean and my desk has room for my laptop again – plus I finally made myself a little craft corner where I put all of my DIY and craft supplies! I’m super excited to have a work space again and am really looking forward to what this next year has to offer!

I was telling my best friend Alyssa about my organization adventures and was telling her how excited I was to have everything close at hand, when she told me how she’s kicking off her new year by getting ultra organized. Much like myself, she’s got 10 million things going on in her life and can’t seem to keep much of it under control without a little help. So instead of flailing through the year trying to keep everything organized separately, she’s created a system to help her keep all of her work in one place and keep her motivated to get it all done!

Enter: The Daily Binder

full-shot

Yes, the school supply staple is making a comeback! Alyssa’s binder has a section for every part of her life that she focuses on: ministry, prayers, gratitude journals, and everything in between. When she showed me her binder, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t thought of it sooner! It was absolutely ingenious: to have one system where you could store every part of your life and keep it all together in a pretty little portable package. Honestly, she showed it to me exactly when I needed it!

I had been looking for a new way to keep my work together because my umpteen notebooks just weren’t cutting it anymore. So of course being ecstatic about the possibilities, I ran out and grabbed a 2″ binder, some dividers, and some loose leaf lined paper and got to work:

tabs

The great thing about this binder idea is that it’s so easy to tailor it to your specific tastes. Alyssa does a lot of ministry work, so her binder is tailored to fit those needs. My needs are on a bit of a broader spectrum, so my binder is more inclusive of my blog work and personal goals. My tabs include Editorial Calendars for the blog, Meal Plans,Grocery Lists, and To-Do Lists for weekly and daily use, Recipes that I find and enjoy to copy to my books later, Reading Lists to keep track of what books I’ve read and want to read, a Gratitude Journal, and a section for random notes. My binder also includes a spot for my daily planner so I always have that on me as well!

So as you can see, my binder focuses on the activities and responsibilities in my life that I want to keep track of, and also makes some room for my personal development goals (gratitude journal and reading list). I really love this binder idea because it combines my love of organization and my daily responsibilities and work without being overwhelming. It’s super easy to carry around – I don’t need my backpack for work anymore, and it just frees up a lot of time I normally spend finding things to make a list on, then finding the lists I have inevitably lost, finding journals wherever they might be, and grabbing an entire extra bag for something I don’t need to take with me.

Obviously if you have less things you want to focus on, you can absolutely go smaller on the binder and dividers – but I would highly recommend getting a binder with pockets, or getting a daily planner with a 3 hole punch in it to keep it all together! Having this binder has proven absolutely invaluable the last few days – it’s kept me super organized and on task all day long leaving no time or need to spend an hour searching for something I lost.

If you’re looking to get organized this year, I would highly recommend picking up a binder, some dividers, some loose leaf paper, and a daily planner to get started! Just make your tabs according to the activities and responsibilities you focus on, and try to add in a few personal development tabs while you’re at it. Take control of your year, one tab at a time 🙂

I hope you guys like this idea and if you try it out let me know! Thanks again, Alyssa, for showing me this idea and letting me share it! Happy New Year, y’all! Let’s make it a great one!

Leave a Reply

