Self-Help

Knowing When It’s Time To Take A Step Back

Well, here we are back at Avocado Adventures. It was a bumpy 3 months over at Happiness In The Journey, and honestly I can’t say that I had that great of a time. It was incredibly stressful, time consuming in a way I had anticipated but not fully prepared for, and frankly it was too much of a creativity drain.

So 3 months later, I’m working on shutting it down. I’ve already imported all of my posts from there back over here, and I’m working on pulling all of my followers back over to this site which is proving to be a bigger challenge than it was the other way around. I have to admit, I’m really disappointed. I spent months researching and preparing for the move and getting myself into a rhythm of posting and checking all of my social media boxes and schedules, and it just kind of flopped. And that really stinks! But as much as I hate to admit it, shutting down the website was a necessary move.

The last few months have been incredibly rough in terms of the state of my mental health. I won’t go into detail, but suffice to say, I’ve got too much on my plate and not enough energy or time in the day to get to it all. I was working with my Local Spiritual Assembly to do an overhaul of their Sunday Morning Program and spent all the time I could on writing programs and research for each week, but it just got to be too overwhelming and I had to pull out of that project. The blog has sat idle for over a month and believe it or not, I actually lost followers moving over to the self-hosted site!

Almost all (if not all) of my friends will tell you that I am not a quitter. I don’t like to give up on things, and I don’t like to let go of things even if it’s for my own good. So it comes as no surprise that I’m having a really hard time transitioning into this next phase of my life where I have to pull out of a lot of things I was really passionate about and just take a step back in general.

It’s never easy to put your projects on hold, but if I’ve learned anything over my lifetime of pushing myself to the edge, it’s that you’re not going to do anyone any good if you stretch yourself too thin. And it takes a lot to recognize when you’re almost too thin, but it’s even harder to admit you need a break and actually take one.

I am notorious for thinking I can handle everything I throw on my plate as I’m sure many of you are as well. But the reality is, our eyes are bigger than our capabilities, and responsibility piles up quickly when you’re not looking directly at it. If you’ve taken on a lot of roles lately and you feel like you’re just barely getting everything done, it’s time to take a hard look at your schedule and your commitments. Are you truly able to put your best foot forward in every commitment you’ve made? Do you have enough time in your schedule to meet deadlines and take a day or two off? Or even just a few hours in the day to yourself?

If you don’t have time to relax, you need to cut down on your commitments. If you’re feeling overwhelmed and not getting enough sleep or eating as well as you should, it’s time to take a break from your extra-curricular activities. While it’s not easy to let go (trust me, I know!), forcing yourself to continue meeting deadlines you’re killing yourself over is only going to deprive you of more rest in the long run.

If you have a sneaking suspicion that you’re working too hard, don’t ignore it. Take a step back from your responsibilities, and just take a break! Some time away to relax and recoup will leave you feeling refreshed and ready to take on your old projects. Just be sure that you don’t take on everything at once when you’re ready to get back to it!

Leave a Reply

